top of page

Oh So Good Chocolate Chip Cookies

I shared in an earlier post that modifying recipes can be a challenge, especially when you're first learning how to cook. Cookies have always been hit or miss for me, but I've finally perfected a Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe that stays together, doesn't crumble, doesn't run all over the pan making one giant cookie, tastes GREAT, and still meets all of our allergy needs! It was too good not to share, so here we go!



For all of you amazing bakers out there that have actual training, please show me some grace. The order I add ingredients makes sense in my head, but are certainly not in the order I see in most recipes, but it works for me.


The first step is to preheat the oven to 375 degrees so your oven is warming while you're prepping the cookies. This will reduce your cooking time and helps your cookies bake evenly.


I made the chia eggs first by taking 2 TBSP chia seeds, 6 TBSP water, and 2/3 cup coconut oil, adding them to my Ninja single serve food processor, and blending until the seeds were all chopped up. This helps disguise the fact that there are seeds in the recipe so your kids won't ask questions.


From there, I put the chia egg into my Kitchen Aid stand alone mixer and added the white and brown sugar, vanilla extract, baking soda, Xantham Gum, and salt. I always to add the Xantham Gum to the recipe before the flour to ensure it gets mixed in really well. This is the binding agent, along with the chia egg, that helps your cookie stay together when you're not using gluten and/or eggs.


Fun Twist: Add 2 drops of Peppermint Vitality to your recipe to add a fun flavor or make Peppermint Vitality icing to go on top after baking. Find them on my Essential Oils page.


Add the flour and chocolate chips at the end and you're ready to start baking! Your cookies will spread slightly when cooking, but pretty much stay spaced out like you placed them on the pan.


Let your kiddos lick the bowl. The cookie dough is the best part! You don't have to worry about bacteria because you didn't use a raw egg, so let them be kids.


Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes or until their your desired chewy-ness (just made that up). Some people like warmed-up dough and others like it crispy. I like it somewhere in the middle.


Side note: I use Pampered Chef baking stones instead of cookie sheets. This affects the baking time and how evenly your cookies bake, but I find it's much better than using metal baking sheets. Plus, I don't have to use aluminum foil and clean-up is super easy. I've got a few friends that are Pampered Chef consultants, so if you don't know one and you'd like to get these baking stones, let me know and I'll connect you with one of my friends.


Now for the best part...eating the cookies! This picture was taken about 5 minutes after the cookies came out of the oven. They didn't crumble, they were nice and soft, and my kids (and the neighbors) LOVED them!


Have a fun time making cookies and memories with your

family!




Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page